AMI K Selection Problems / Pulse Converter
26.08.15 04:11
Hello,

I am hoping someone can help me with my 1960 AMi JBK-120 Jukebox.

I have been having problems with selections since last summer. I am not very technically apt but I am trying to learn more about my machine. I had all of the lamp wiring replaced, amp rebuild etc. I cannot find a fix for my pulse converter. After making a selection, the wheel spins continuously and will not advance. And if it does work, it will often make the wrong selection. The only way to get it to work (temporarily) is to adjust the resting position of the wipers on the numbers side of the converter. But soon after, it stops working again. I have had the pulse converter + pulse generator serviced but it did not make a difference.

After I adjust the wipers on the numbers side to the proper resting position, they will gradually move away from where I set them. And then the problems start soon afterward. I am wondering if the plastic red hub which sits on the numbers side has worn out. Or a spring? I noticed that it rotates freely around the steel shaft that it sits on. Has it detached?

The red hub on the letters side is fastened to the shaft and rotates with the hub.

I hope this makes sense?

Any help would be greatly appreciated,

Thanks,

Paul

Re: AMI K Selection Problems / Pulse Converter
26.08.15 07:37
Hello Paul

The wiper is set definitely wrong. I would highly recommend that you buy a Service Manual. ( [www.jukebox-world.de] ) There, all settings are described in detail. The pulse converter is very difficult to adjust and without Service Manual it is almost impossible.

When the red stepping wheel is in the position shown, the wiper must be placed on the first "1" segment. If you press the stepping relay once by hand (with power off), the wiper should be centered on the second "1" segment. The two "1" segments can be seen approximately behind the screws of the sliding contact.