Fanfare 60A - arm control lever

geschrieben von - posted by j-man 
Fanfare 60A - arm control lever
02.06.22 14:24
Hello everybody: this is my first post here, so I will introduce myself a bit. I'm Italian, I'm a musician and since I was a child I developed a passion for electronics. It became useful when I began to work in recording studios in the Eighties, first as a maintenance engineer then as MIDI programmer and keyboard player, and after a while the latter became my real profession, while electronics remained as a hobby.

Now I have a small lab where I mostly play with musical boxes: instruments, vintage Hi-Fi, studio gear, computers... Some months ago a fellow musician and friend asked my help to restore his NSM Fanfare 60A, It was a lot of fun, but a long process as well: the amplifier and the record selector (Vorwählaggregat) needed a lot of work, but now it's almost over. I just ordered in the online shop the four pulleys for the record changer: they will fix the mechanism, but there's just one thing that still worries me... the arm control lever (Winkelhebel für Tonarm-Steuerung).

As many of you probably know, this item is made of Zamak, an alloy that tends to degrade overtime becoming very easy to break. In fact, while I was mounting it under the tonearm after cleanup and lubrication, it just snapped when I was tightening its screw (you can see it in the attached pictures). I managed to build an aluminium copy, but since it's handmade I can't be sure about size and mechanical tolerances, although it is mounted and seems to work.

Is there a chance to find an used one? Is there another way to recreate it? I was wondering about 3D CAD, but I don't know how to use these programs. Furthermore, the best way to have an exact copy would be a 3D scan, and I don't know how to find it. Any help would be welcome: thanks in advance.

Re: Fanfare 60A - arm control lever
02.06.22 14:33
In addition there's another photo with sizes.