Newbie Wurlitzer X202 problems

geschrieben von - posted by Cquadphil 
Newbie Wurlitzer X202 problems
17.05.21 19:51
Hi all and thanks for the add to the Forum. I've been searching around the topics for a few days, you sure do know a lot about Jukeboxes.

I need some help with getting a 1982 Wurlitzer X202 Estrella back to life. I'm an experienced electronic engineer living in Ireland and I've fixed up pinball machines and guitar amps in the past but this is my first jukebox. I've got a full manual with schematics etc., which is great, but I'm struggling to know where to start as the machine seems to be in a really strange state.

I read some posts of similar vintage Wurlitzer and did the following tests:
On switch on the amp seems to come to life as there is noise out of the speakers, the illumination works and the turntable motor operates but nothing else.
I get 888 on the display and none of the keys do anything when I press them either in operate or test mode.
The gripper arm is past the turntable pushed down by quite a strong spring onto the floor of the mechanism.
Pressing the LT reset on the SCC changes the display to a small u in the upper part of the first display.
The K and Z leds on the SCC are always on.
When I push the credit button the M led flashes and the display changes. It looks like it's counting up but the segments of the display are all wrong.
All the fuses are OK.
Checked the 30v and 2x12v AC supplies to the SCC and they seem OK.
there is no back up battery cell in it so I moved the jumper to memory off position.
I've checked C22 and it looks like it is working although the voltage across it rose to 14.9V and the schematic said it was working off a 10V supply.
I've dismantled, cleaned and tested the keyboard switches.
Also dismantled and inspected the display board, resoldered a few joints but nothing obvious.